school · work

COMM 492 Journal #2

Since my internship started, I have learned a great deal. I have also learned more about my own strengths and weaknesses, and these have given me greater perspective on my own future career prospects.

One of the lessons that I have learned so far through this internship is how to set deadlines for myself. Often, my supervisors do not give med a set deadline for when specific tasks are done, such as transcribing an interview. Recently, I had an interview that had to be transcribed, which then had to be put into an article. Since I was not given a set due date for this assignment, I decided to set my own, and estimated that I could have both the transcription and the article finished by this past Tuesday, which I did. I also was able to transcribe another interview because I finished before the workday was over.

I have faced some challenges in this internship. For example, I have been trying to use a physical calendar more often in order to schedule my responsibilities. However, I have sometimes forgotten to write down all of my tasks. One of these was an interview I scheduled. However, I had forgotten about an event I was already assigned to attend. I realized my mistake too late, and I had to reschedule. This also happened another time with a different interview subject, and I had to reschedule the interview for the next day.

These experiences will help me find a career in the future by showing me what I am currently successful at, as well as what I need to work on in order to improve my work and productivity. By identifying these traits, I will be better equipped to promote myself in the job market after I graduate from Longwood.s

2 thoughts on “COMM 492 Journal #2

  1. I’ve started using a combination of a physical calendar and google calendar with alerts to my phone. It works pretty well as long as I remember to place the appointment and alert.

    Like

Leave a Reply

