published · school · Uncategorized

You’re here, now how do you meet people?

This article originally appeared in The Rotunda (archive)

To some, leaving the comfort of high school and coming to a university can be daunting. You have left everyone behind to come to Longwood and have to make entirely new friends. It is a process I had to go through myself twice. After leaving my close-knit high school theatre troupe, I went to community college for one year before transferring here. At community college, I, of course, had new friends that I had to leave when I transferred. So, I know what it’s like to have to leave your new friends often and make new ones. With that in mind, here are some tips for meeting new people all over again, such as getting involved in student organizations and a few you might not have thought of.

When you ask someone about the fastest ways to make new friends in college, the common response is to involve yourself in lots of activities. Longwood offers 174 different student organizations, so there is something for everyone. As for myself, I obviously write for the student newspaper. I can also be found with organizations like the Politics Club and sometimes the Gaming Club. The Politics Club recently held a debate between the College Democrats (which I am a part of) and the College Republicans. I was one of the moderators for the event. The Longwood Gaming Club is an organization that I occasionally tag along with, especially for Extra Life, a charity event they do each year.

Another way to meet people is to go to Dorrill Dining Hall and speak to new people each time you go there. This is what I did for a good while after I got here during my first semester, and I met a lot of new people. It is best to try several different places in the dining hall in order to meet a wider variety of people. A similar idea is to go to the café (also known as “the Stu”) under the Student Union and the Java City coffee shop next to the library. Both of these are places where you are sure to find new people to hang with. The Stu also has a game room lounge area with several smaller rooms, such as a meeting area.

Many of the residential departments also have planned activities, which are good ways to meet people on your floor that you may not have met before as well as the other people from dorm or residential area. These are often activities like the Dorm Olympics for the dorms and Trivia Night, which is hosted by the Longwood Village each Tuesday.

This is just a small list of the multitude of ways that you can meet people at Longwood University. Making new friends in a new place can be a difficult task for people at any age, even college students. The point is to make sure that you get yourself out there and meet people who have similar interests to you, and you can have a much better time at Longwood.

Leave a Reply

